Announcing the Finalists for the 2021 Spokane Prize  

Judged by Ian Pisarcik 

We are happy to announce the finalists for our 2021 Spokane Prize for Short Fiction, judged by Ian Pisarcik.  


  • The Existence of the Opposite, Robert Shuster 
  • Yellowstone: Stories, Maija Mäkinen   
  • Apple, Key, Cross, Patricia Schultheis 
  • My Prisoner & Other Stories, Tyler McAndrew 
  • House, Tree, Alyssa Pelish 
  • The Lives of Lonely Monsters, Laur A. Freymiller 
  • Resurrection City, Catherine Browder 


Since 2005, the Spokane Prize for Short Fiction has set out to publish new and innovative collections of short fiction from writers across the United States. As a small press, Willow Springs Books is committed to creating space for up-and-coming authors, and we are excited to continue discovering creative voices with fresh takes in literary fiction. 


Previous Spokane Prize winners include: 2020 Winner Elsa Necola for Sustainable Living, 2019 Winner Nickalus Rupert for Bosses of Light and Sound, and 2018 Winner Valerie Vogrin’s for Things We’ll Need for the Coming Difficulties 


Judge Announcement

We are also honored to announce that our 2021 Spokane Prize for Short Fiction will be judged by the brilliant Ian Pisarcik. 


Born and raised in rural New England, Ian currently resides in Washington state. His stories and poems have appeared in the Roanoke Review, Lullwater Review, Maine Review, Spokesman Review and the Flyway Journal of Writing and the Environment 


Ian recently published his first novel, Before Familiar Woods (2020), a mystery thriller revolving around the dark secrets of a sleepy Vermont town, to stunning reviews and critical acclaim. 


You can follow Ian on Instagram and Twitter at @ianpisarcik or check out his website   



The Winner of the 2021 Spokane Prize will be announced in January 2022.  


You can order a copy of 2020 Winner Elsa Necola’s collection Sustainable Living using the link below: